New Ways to Navigate MoS

The MatterofStats website, as well as sporting a new look, now provides two new ways to trawl its content. All of the entries in the Statistical Analyses journal have been categorised and tagged, and indexes of the available categories and of the 100 most popular tags now appear in the Navigation Bar at the right of every page. 

Under the Search By Category heading are links to each of the 17 different blog categories. Clicking on any of these links will retrieve a listing of all blog entries noted as belonging to that category. Under the Search By Tag heading is a single link to a page that contains a tag cloud. Clicking on any link on that page will bring up a list of blog entries associated with that tag.

I think I've done a better job categorising than tagging entries, but I'd appreciate any feedback on misclassifications, missed classifications, mistaggings or  missed taggings.

Also, please let me know what you think about the site - good or bad.


Since last I posted about MoS visits from around the globe back in June, people from 18 more countries have found their way to the site. Sixteen of those countries I can readily identify and have listed below (the other two have escaped even a flag-by-flag comparison with the previous inventory and there's only so long I'm prepared to play the international version of Spot the Difference).

The new countries that I can identify are:

Flags of the 118 nations that have visited MoS

  • Moldova
  • Tunisia
  • Bolivia
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Curacao
  • Fiji
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Georgia
  • Cambodia
  • Brunei
  • Ecuador
  • Iceland
  • Marshall Islands
  • Costa Rica
  • Sri Lanka
  • Liechtenstein

According to the Flag Counter website, 123 countries remain unaccounted for in MoS' traffic data.

Turning next to individual countries, MoS has also had visitors from five more US states since mid-June: Alaska, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma and South Dakota. That leaves just five other for MoS to collect to complete the set: Idaho, Montana, North Dakota, Vermont and West Virginia.

Canada, in contrast, has resisted further MoS incursion, leaving seven provinces MoS-free: New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Prince Edward Island, Saskatchewan and Yukon Territory.